About Ecuador
Instituto Superior

About Ecuador

Ecuador is located in the northwest of South America on the Equator, bordering the Pacific Ocean, Colombia, Peru, and Brazil. Ecuador’s capital city, Quito, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, known to be one of the best preserved historic areas in Latin America. Rich in the history and culture of Ecuador, you might find yourself not wanting to leave. For more information on Ecuador, please view the links below.

Traversing Ecuador from north to south are the Andes, topped with high volcanic peaks. This biologically diverse country is divided into four different regions: the Pacific Coast, the Sierra (Andean Highlands), the Oriente (Amazon), and the Galapagos Islands.

The climate in Ecuador varies from region to region, depending on the elevation. Quito is spring-like all year round and can be chilly in the mornings and evenings. The Pacific Coast has a tropical climate and a severe rainy season. The Amazon has a humid tropical climate and also a severe rainy season. The temperature varies on the Galapagos Islands: from June to November the temperature averages 22 °C (72 °F) and is accompanied by a cool breeze and frequent drizzles. From December to May the temperature averages 25 °C (77 °F), with sunshine and sporadic strong rains.

To learn more about Ecuador, check out our Traveling Classroom Gallery



Follow Us.


Contact Us

Contact form submitted!
We will be in touch soon.